Penalties for DWI in the State of Texas
Award-Winning Travis County DWI Lawyers
Getting a DWI is serious business—you could be in danger of losing
your freedom and having your future opportunities severely limited. Anyone
with a blood alcohol content of 0.08 or higher is liable to be charged.
Even if an officer suspects that you are under the influence, you could
find yourself arrested. Get a premier Austin
criminal defense attorney by calling our firm and get started on your defense!
Hines Ranc & Holub can boast
over 85 years of collective experience in protecting the rights of the accused. All this experience means we
understand how to combat criminal charges and obtain favorable outcomes
for our clients. Our firm is more qualified than most to represent you
since we are certified by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization, an
only 10% of all Texas attorneys have earned.
DWI penalties can be harsh. Don’t take risks.
Call us today at
What Penalties am I facing?
Penalties are in large part determined by the nature of your charges. While
penalties get worse for subsequent DWI convictions, even one can ruin
your life. All the more reason to speak with our firm.
Penalties for DWI offense include:
First DWI: 72 hours to 180 days in jail with up to $2,000 in fines
Second DWI: 30 to 365 days in jail and up to $4,000 in fines
Third DWI: 2 to 10 years in Texas Department of Criminal Justice and up to $10,000 in fines
Intoxication Assault: 2 to 10 years in TDCJ and up to $10,000 in fines
DWI w/ Child Passenger: 6 months to 2 years in state jail facility and up to $10,000 in fines
While most states have a restricted lookback period,
Texas does not. That means even if you committed your first DWI offense over 20 years
ago, the next will still be considered a second offense. This is another
reason it is so important to fight your charges and utilize your legal options.
Administrative Penalties for DWI in Texas
In addition to the criminal penalties involved in a DWI conviction, you
are also facing serious administrative penalties. What exactly does this cover?
Your license will be suspended for a minimum of 90 days and up to 180 days
by the DMV for your first offense.
Each subsequent offense will increase this suspension period. In some extreme
cases, your license may even be revoked. If you refuse to submit to a
chemical test, you could also face a maximum 180-day license suspension—regardless
of how your DWI case turns out. Additionally, you may also have to take
a substance abuse treatment screening and class and install an ignition
interlock device on your vehicle.
The Passionate DWI Defense That You Deserve
Austin DWI lawyers at your back, you could see your charges dropped or reduced. We can contest
the grounds for your police stop by arguing police did not have probable
cause to stop your vehicle. We can even challenge any breath test that
you took by arguing the machine gave an inaccurate reading or was not
administered properly. No matter what the details of your case are, our
Travis County DWI lawyers can fight for your rights and ensure you are
treated fairly by the judge and the prosecution.
Call the firm
right away or fill out a
free case evaluation so that we can get started on your DWI defense today! We look forward
to serving you.